Powered by coANDco UK

How to reset an apple to factory settings / reinstall if the drive is locked

From How2s

You will need to use the terminal to DELETE all your data beforehand. Remember, that a locked drive can only be read by someone with the password. Therefore your only option is to delete the contents.

This is how you do it:

  • Start your mac holding CMD+R (Recovery mode)
  • Click on "Utilities" and then "Terminal" in the main menu
  • Type
 diskutil cs list
  • copy the ID (UUID) behind the logical volume group at the top of the hierarchy
  • Type
 diskutil cs delete UUID

Warning: all data will be lost.

Please check out our sponsor, thanks to whom How2s.org is FREE: